Norfolk Photographs

So after looking at inspiration from other photographers, whilst I was home at the weekend I decided to do some location scouting to gather some new photographs that could be added to my Portfolio. I did three separate photoshoots over two days, one was in Snettisham on the Friday and then went onto Thornham and Hunstanton on the Saturday. I was hoping for a more impressive sunset but the clouds come in and the loss of light wasn’t much to my advantage. However I still tried to make use of what I had available and experimented with HDR to achieve better results. These are some of the photographs I have taken in contact sheet format. Screen Shot 2015-01-27 at 11.31.48 Screen Shot 2015-01-27 at 11.33.42Screen Shot 2015-01-27 at 11.32.26 Screen Shot 2015-01-27 at 11.32.45 Screen Shot 2015-01-27 at 11.33.01

These were some of the photographs that I selected that stood out the most to me over the weekend, since looking back on a lot of them there are parts that I would do differently and change the composition slightly. These are mainly aimed towards the ones taken in Thornham with the wooden stumps. The lighting wasn’t to my advantage, I would have liked it to have been slightly darker to get some slow shutter speed experimenting. I would also like to experiment with different advantage points by changing the focus but due to it being marsh lands this was a lot more difficult. I would like to go back here and take some more at a later day also looking into hide and low tides for more variation.


Edited

Through the editing process I started experimenting with the HDR, some of the results were successful. These are some of my edited versions of the above photographs. IMG_2004 IMG_1988IMG_2014IMG_1847CIMG_1975IMG_1955

Some of these photographs have been more successful than others, I feel as though the shipwreck photograph has a better result and i’ve slightly adjusted the colours to make these more dominant and to bring focus to the unique cliff edges. The sunset at Hunstanton I feel could have been better I did experiment with various angles trying to include the rock pools to make them more unique, a more impressive sunset would have been more preferred though. I also again carried on experimenting with black and white to continue with this theme I began looking at with the photographs I took in Dartmoor, I feel the Wooden posts in Thornham worked better with the black and white. This looks more at the tonal ranges and brings out the detail shown in the wood. To make this more dramatic I could re think the composition and have some closer to me allowing the posts to lead your eye around the photograph.

IMG_1955BW IMG_2004BW

Just out of interest I wanted to look at the Shipwreck photograph as a black and white photograph as well, this allows the tonal range to expand and by lighting areas around the photograph to become more significant. This does subtract from the iconic white and reds that are in the cliffs, and I feel the colour version does work better in this case.

One thought on “Norfolk Photographs”

Leave a Reply

