Photographer Inspiration

Matthew Usher

I began looking at Landscape photographers who are based in Norfolk, near my home town to look at the types of photographs and the locations they have visited to gain inspiration for myself. Matthew Usher has been based in Kings Lynn his whole life working for the press news and taking landscape photographs on the side more as a hobby. Most of his photographs have been taken in Snettisham, Thornham and Hunstanton. These are some of the photographs:SNETTISHAM3THORNHAMINFRARED2 SNETTPANA1 SNETT_POST(BW) SANDRINGHAM_FROST

These photographs have allowed me to discover new places that I didn’t know existed so close to my home with the Snettisham Jetty, and the wooden stumps located in Thornham. I wanted to take these locations and explore further to gather my own images. I need to aim to photograph more around Sunrise and sunset so that I can get more dramatic lighting. Usher’s work includes a mixture of colour and black and white throughout his portfolio.


Jon Gibbs

Gibbs is a professional landscape photographer from Norfolk who also owns a gallery. He works on commissioned landscape projects along with photographing interior and architectural photography, along with running different workshops on the Norfolk Coast. His work stretches beyond norfolk around the UK. I have specifically looked more into local photographs to give me inspiration without having to travel as far keeping my travel costs smaller. These are some examples of Jon Gibbs photography:Screen Shot 2015-01-27 at 11.49.46 Screen Shot 2015-01-27 at 11.50.24 Screen Shot 2015-01-27 at 11.50.48 Screen Shot 2015-01-27 at 11.51.06 Screen Shot 2015-01-27 at 11.51.47 Screen Shot 2015-01-27 at 11.52.12 Screen Shot 2015-01-27 at 11.52.48 Screen Shot 2015-01-27 at 11.53.01

The continuity of Jon Gibbs works with the same lighting that he has used by keeping them all in colour and the skies have similarities that continue through a range of his work, these have all been taken from one series looking at the Norfolk Coast. He expands on using slow shutter speed techniques and HDR so he can gain even lighting across the photograph and this allows the water to become more photogenic not making it look so choppy. His work has really influence me to travel to new locations that are close to home and create more interesting angles. However, when looking at his website I found a lot of the photographs became very similar and he could look at widening his angles and adding more compositions to some imagery.

By looking at these two photographs they have influenced me to look for new locations or the ‘hidden treasures’ that are close to me and not noticed everyday. This also allows me to expand and look more into location scouting and this could become a career aspect that I may look into a bit further. I hope to be able to get new and interesting shots, this can sometimes be more difficult depending on the weather. I would like to shoot primarily at Sunrise and Sunset to achieve the best results.

Leave a Reply

