Contact Sheet

I have been gathering together a variety of photographs for different categories in my portfolio so that I can gather them together and allow me to easily pair them and better to sequence together. These are the photographs that I have selected to begin with.

Australia:

Screen Shot 2015-02-11 at 19.11.43 Screen Shot 2015-02-11 at 19.12.23 Screen Shot 2015-02-11 at 19.11.58

New Zealand:

Screen Shot 2015-02-11 at 19.14.19 Screen Shot 2015-02-11 at 19.14.05

England:

Screen Shot 2015-02-11 at 19.13.08 Screen Shot 2015-02-11 at 19.13.29

I am still taking photographs when I get the chance and I am also going to be adding the photographs from New York which is now only 3 weeks and a half weeks away. I am going to print these and then go through and reorganise and experiment with what works better and what will work better together on each spread.

I have been working on some new layouts using InDesign: I have tried adding more to some pages and keeping some simple. These are some more spreads that are in progress:Screen Shot 2015-02-11 at 17.52.10

Screen Shot 2015-02-11 at 17.51.58

I experimented with some different layouts to go on this page as they all worked well together with the similarity of colours drawing them together. I wanted to bring in some native animals found in Australia as it helps add to the Travel aspect I want to create in my portfolio and they are relevant to the scene by creating some details. The different shapes of the photographs all work together and allow this cycle around the spread leading your eye in. I wanted to keep this landscape impression to my book by having them full bleed to the left and right so that it represents the landscapes in Australia, I also felt this could then follow on as a theme throughout my book.

Screen Shot 2015-02-11 at 17.51.47

This page wanted to continue with keeping the native animals similar to the previous spread, but I want more emphasis to be on the photograph on the right as this is a stronger photograph. I wanted to keep this more simple. I could make the Kangaroo on the left slightly smaller. They have similar colours throughout the spread as well.

Screen Shot 2015-02-11 at 17.52.24

This layout I liked but I felt didn’t fit into this concept of having things landscapes, this needs some more experimenting with to see what would work better. But I do feel like there is potential. The photographs work together being similar colours and a similar location creating different themes for each spread.

Screen Shot 2015-02-11 at 17.52.36

This was my least favourite of the spreads, I believe that there is to much happening all over one page, Im not sure the photograph on the right needs to be so large and I could consider having white space to make it less compacted with photographs. Although these are all on the same location at Mount Cook in New Zealand I believe the colours differ and the layout don’t do the photographs justice. This needs some more work, potentially cutting some of the photographs or maybe putting across two double page spreads.

When I have considered more about the sequencing of my photographs I plan to go more in depth with layouts and adding graphics, I have considered some ideas and have began trying different things that could work alongside the photographs but when I am creating these layouts I want to consider more about where the type shall go in relation to the photograph. I don’t want to distort the photography as this is the main focus of the portfolio.

Leave a Reply

