Portfolio Review

I have been designing my book with Sim Imaging so I have had to design in their software. I began to experiment with the layouts and wanted to experiment, to get the best out of my portfolio and show my photography skills along with my design skills. This is the progress that I have made with my portfolio and I spoke to my lecturer about parts that I could improve on.

Screen Shot 2015-03-26 at 18.57.56
This is my Introduction and cover page, Due to the type of book I have chosen the first pages become a double page unlike normal books. Some of the changes I wanted to make to this spread:

  • Take away the word ‘Introduction’ and rewrite this paragraph. Move this so it becomes central and it will then flow with the next page as well.
  • Change the colour of the Favicon to a black, the blue starts to relate closely to the images. This may not be necessary for this page but could be used on a credits page.
  • I could include the map that I have used on my website so that they relate together, this will also help link the small logo designs I have put into each section of my portfolio.

Screen Shot 2015-03-26 at 18.58.11
This was my first opening page for Australia, I wanted to make it become more factual by adding facts about the country that I visited, I added these onto the opening pages.

  • I experimented with a different design by keeping the facts within a box I need to adjust this in this section. Also the number section I have for the facts is very similar to the Contents page I could experiment by adding a Facts! title and maybe using hashtags as well.
  • Make sure that everything is lined up.
  • Experiment with the logo of Australia, experiment with size and maybe move it around a bit.

Screen Shot 2015-03-26 at 18.58.21

  • Make sure that the height of all the boxes are the same don’t have one slightly smaller than the other.
  • Remove the page number, only want these on the opening spread pages.
  • Make sure the text lines up with all imagery.
  • Perhaps leave a bigger gap in the centre, in case any is lost when printing the books.

Screen Shot 2015-03-26 at 18.58.29

  • The page number needs removing.
  • Make sure that everything is lined up and equal gaps.

Screen Shot 2015-03-26 at 18.58.38

  • Remove page numbers.
  • On smaller image of the pinnacles, edited the output levels to 250px

Screen Shot 2015-03-26 at 18.58.46

  • Remove page numbers
  • These images are too similar either create more symmetry with the second photograph or replace with another image, I could use the Perth Skyline.
  • Make sure Its the same size layout as previous layouts.

Screen Shot 2015-03-26 at 18.58.55

  • Here I need to add in the text Facts! Experiment and give more space in the box for text. Smaller gap on the left, more room on the right. I began experimenting with the #1, I could alter the colours so that it separates from the facts.
  • Put all text in one box and make sure this is all equally spaced.
  • Again think about the logo of New Zealand.

Screen Shot 2015-03-26 at 18.59.05

  • Create a larger gap between the photos on the left and centre spread.
  • Remove page number
  • Make sure text is lined up.
  • Edit the sky in the top left image and add a filter so that it relates to the other photographs.
  • Edit the output levels again to 250px

Screen Shot 2015-03-26 at 18.59.13

  • Darken the top left corner of the left photograph so that it doesn’t lead you out of the page.
  • Remove page numbers
  • Edit the output levels again to 250px

Screen Shot 2015-03-26 at 18.59.20

  • Move the text so that it is level with the other layouts.
  • Try swapping the imagery around so that the water doesn’t cross over a page.
  • Remove page number.

Screen Shot 2015-03-26 at 18.59.28

  • Change the opacity of the block for text and make it larger.
  • Put all of the text into one block and change the numbering to # so that it becomes more clear.
  • Make sure it is evenly spread like other spreads.

Screen Shot 2015-03-26 at 18.59.37

  • Remove Page number
  • Make sure text is evenly spread

Screen Shot 2015-03-26 at 18.59.46

  • Try cropping the photo of the bridge or alter the layout so that is similar to the one I used in Queenstown.
  • Darken the left area of the bridge photograph.
  • Make sure text is evenly placed.

Screen Shot 2015-03-26 at 18.59.55

  • Create the fact box like the other spreads.
  • Draw an illustration of New York City.

Screen Shot 2015-03-26 at 19.00.04

  • Remove Page number
  • Make sure text is evenly placed
  • Crop the left photo slightly so its more about the neons.

Screen Shot 2015-03-26 at 19.00.13

  • Remove Page number
  • Make sure text is evenly placed

Screen Shot 2015-03-26 at 19.00.21

  • Remove Page number
  • Make sure text is evenly placed
  • Try moving the photographs
  • Edit them so that the sky is more even across the photographs.
  • Remove the dust marks on the right photographs.

Screen Shot 2015-03-26 at 19.00.31

  • Remove page numbers
  • Evenly place the text.
  • Try and bring the image on the left down so you don’t loose the detail at the top.
  • Being my only interior shots should I include them?

Screen Shot 2015-03-26 at 19.00.42

  • Think about what photograph to use on the right, does this one work, do I have a better one?

Screen Shot 2015-03-26 at 19.00.52

  • Move the photographs on the right out so there is a bigger gap in the centre.

Screen Shot 2015-03-26 at 19.01.02

  • Does this spread fit with the rest of my book? Or should I just remove this and use it as a credits page.
  • Remove Page numbers.
  • Keep the Fire Escape and use the other page as a credits page.

I need to add in a credits page so I can put in a copyright logo. Something along the lines of:

All photographs copyrighted to Karen Catchpole, 2015
Travel Photography and Design
Followed by Contact Details and Website address.

Leave a Reply

