Mailing – to go with portfolio

With our brief we have also been asked to create a mailing to present alongside our portfolio, as my portfolio is focussed towards travel photography and design, I felt that a postcard would work well with my portfolio. However I wanted to add some design elements to work with this.
When designing I had a few variations in the style that I wanted to go with. Screen Shot 2015-04-07 at 20.26.00
This was the first idea that I had by putting the images within a circle. The pictures being so different it felt not very weighted, this could be altered with a different variety in photographs, I wanted to choose an image from each of the countries I visited and have been included in my portfolio. When getting from this design people did not like the white space surrounding the design it drew their eye to the white and not the photographs.

Screen Shot 2015-04-07 at 20.26.13

This was the second idea for the design, by having a selection of the snippets of photographs I have included showing mores incentive to go to the website to look at the photographs further. Feedback from this design was they didn’t like the white stripes and they felt because I have gone with diagonal lines they need to be more dominant so that you can see the design is supposed to be diagonal.
 Screen Shot 2015-04-07 at 21.07.42
I decided to develop my first design after many other ideas with having one photograph having four images and squares and so on. I went with the circle to solve the issue of the white being a problem I put the background as black, this allows the photographs to become more dominant, also with these pictures it becomes more weighted having the two darker images either side and the blue photos opposite, this shows more of a balance. Feedback from this design was that all the pictures tend to blend together and amongst the background.
Screen Shot 2015-04-07 at 21.28.15
With this feedback i defined the edges of the circle and the photographs using a white border, this made the most sense and by having it ever so thin this doesn’t allow it to effect the photographs. Overall this looks significantly better to the place in which I started.

Screen Shot 2015-04-07 at 20.34.00
This is a view of the back of the postcard, stating all my contact details and the copyright to the images, I also included the logo that I used on my website for the favicon and in my portfolio, this shows fluent use and could allow this to become a symbol of my work with the correct advertising. I kept the reverse side of the postcard white, as this allows empty space for people to write notes about me as a reminder. 
Screen Shot 2015-04-08 at 15.52.06

This shows an example of what my postcards will look like, there is no longer as much black space outside the postcard but it looks a lot better making sure the pictures fill the space. there is still lots of empty room and it looks more designed instead of just placing information around.

Leave a Reply

