Framing and Mounting Photographs

For our end of year exhibition I have decided that I want to present my portfolio and some of my travel photography imagery in the show. I want the final prints to be fairly large so that they stand out by using a very clean and contemporary way of displaying them. I have been looking at the prints that Sim Frame offer and the block mount prints were some of my favourites. http://www.simframe.co.uk/blockmounts/ The two sizes that stand out to me the most would be 24×16 or 30×20, originally I was going to do 24×16 but i’m not sure this would be big enough I want them to stand out and be large final images that people could see on their walls. Next I wanted to display 4 large prints so they stood out I like the idea of an even amount.

To help me decide what photographs appealed most to the public, I created this photo to send and asked people to choose there top favourite 4:Screen Shot 2015-04-23 at 15.19.59

The results that I got surprised me slightly, the top favourites amongst people were:
The view From the empire state (1st Row 3rd Image)
The Pinnacles (2nd Row 1st Image)
The Star Trail, The Surf Board and New Zealand (3rd Row 1st, 2nd, 4th Images)
Great Barrier Reed and the Boats (4th Row 1st and 2nd Image)

With the majority of the others having been chosen by a couple of people as well. I come up with putting a few together to see what they looked like as a group of 4. Screen Shot 2015-04-23 at 15.35.06 Screen Shot 2015-04-23 at 15.55.22

These were a couple of ideas I had, I wanted to use the empire state view, star trail and the pinnacles, and majority liked the boats, but  I felt that I needed to include more countries so I wanted to keep the one of New Zealand. I then decided to try out with 5 and come up with some layouts on how to display. This was what I came up with:
Screen Shot 2015-04-23 at 21.04.34
Overall when they are printed and placed on the wall I feel that would make a more dramatic effect. I need to consider the size and find out how much space we have each and how I shall mount them together. I think by keeping the blue together in the middle keeps the overall display balanced. I just need to decide on if I want to print 24×16 or 30×20

Leave a Reply

